Thursday, April 27, 2006

Back to Basics: Prayer and the Mass

Traditionally, Catholicism has four kinds of prayer.
  • Adoration: Praising God.
  • Contrition: Asking for God's forgiveness.
  • Petition: Asking God for a favor.
  • Thanksgiving: Showing God gratitude.
The Church believes that the Mass is the highest and supreme form of prayer, so it has all four elements in it. The Gloria is the adoration part of prayer, whereas the Confiteor and Penitential Rite are the contrition part. Later in the Mass, after the homily (sermon) and the Nicene Creed, comes the Prayer of the Faithful, also known as the General intercessions, which is a prayer of petition. The thanksgiving part comes after Holy Communion, when gratitude is shown for all the graces given at Mass.
Catholicism for Dummies by John Trigilio

No comments:

Post a Comment